Skip to content

An uproariously informal rave-up

January 28, 2007

Just when did I decide you
And I how did I arrive at truth
Love’s a very deadly thing
Swims and fills my viens with a dread
While I’m strapped to your bed
Your the banquet for desire
I wish the man of nine files my bliss

Seduction rides the wings of Dragonflies
Blinding softly right before my eyes
Blinding softly

Took my good eye off the door
Slipped and let my clothes fall to the floor, too quick
there were no riddles in your moves
flown like a silk of wicked webs
I’ve fall into again

Seduction rides the wings of Dragonflies
Blinding softly right before my eyes
Seduction rides the wings of Dragonflies
Blinding softly

Just when did I decide you
And I how did I arrive at truth
Lust’s a very deadly thing
Flows like a silk of wicked webs
I’ve fell into again

Seduction rides the wings of Dragonflies
Blinding softly right before my eyes
Seduction rides the wings of Dragonflies
Blinding softly

I’ve fell into again (softly)

PoviDragonflies

This week started off pretty grim. Even though they claim that, “winter storms do not last long in Denver and the Chinook winds temper winter’s cold to an average temperature well above that of other cities situated at the same latitude”, it’s been damn cold. When I drove to work on Monday I saw this:

dscn1051-sm.jpg

Still and all, it’s been just beautiful here today. I just checked the Weather Underground and it says it 47 degrees right now. My deck is currently snow free. First time that’s happened in about 6 weeks 🙂 . It was supposed to snow Saturday (6th weekend in a row with snow), so we decided to have the Burns Supper on Friday night up at Mitch’s house and bag skiing on Saturday. As it worked out the supper was great, but it didn’t really snow much on Saturday, oh well.

A Burns Supper is an “annual celebratory tribute to the life, works and spirit of the great Scottish poet, Robert Burns (1759-1796).” For the supper, I made Scot’s Eggs. Basically, they’re hard-boiled eggs wrapped in sausage and then traditionally deep fried. Insert Mike Meyer’s “all Scottish food is based on a dare” joke here. Instead of deep frying, I baked mine in the oven and substituted chopped black walnuts and sesame seeds for the breading.

dscn1077-sm.jpg dscn1078-sm.jpg

Mmmm, numerdoodles! Other delights that evening included a Scottish cheese tray and home made Pukka Pies from Amanda, Cullen Skink from Laura, Haggis over Neeps with a whiskey and cream sauce from Mitch and of course a wee dram of single malt courtesy of Greg “lefty” McGrew, Mitch and myself.

dscn1081-sm.jpg dscn1085-sm.jpg

dscn1079-cropped-sm.jpg dscn1083-sm.jpg dscn1084-sm.jpg

dscn1086-sm.jpg dscn1080-cropped-sm.jpg dscn1082-cropped-sm.jpg

Lots of food pics this time, makes me hungry just looking at them. With some trepidation we began our feast and found to our surprise that everything tasted pretty damn good. The haggis was the big surprise of course. Tasted a bit like hash and with the neeps and cream sauce it was a right gude tribute to the pudding-race. We ate until our weel-swall’d kytes were indeed bent like drums. We had too much food but still wanted to keep eating even though a full belly kept us from doing so.

The entertainment portion of the evening included a recitation of Auld Rob Morris from me, Lines On The Fall of Fyers Near Loch-Ness from Amanda with accompanying pictures of the actual Fyers Falls she’d taken on a trip there, a short penny whistle recital from the lovely Laura, Johnie Lad, Cock Up Your Beaver from Greg McGrew and Address to a Haggis and a few pre-recorded guitar tunes from Mitch.

I hope everyone else is finding ways to get through the boring part of winter. Valentines day is about two weeks away for anyone who celebrates it. If you haven’t gotten your reservations for dinner yet, you’d better get on it.

When we’re gaun up the hill of fortune, may we ne’er meet a frien’ comin’ doun!

– G

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

