Skip to content

Leftovers again

March 3, 2007

He never thought that he would leave so soon.
Passed out in May, but then woke up June hanging over July.
Security! Security! Beware:
The cost of living is a one way fare.
I’m pulling the alarm, so get in or get out.

His polyester sticks out in the crowd.
It’s true, there is such a thing as too loud, but I won’t let him know.
White lipstick smeared upon my bathroom mirror.
He stuck me with the bill, but I don’t care.
I’m pulling the alarm, so get in or get out.

Ugly or pretty, it’s still my city.
Make up your mind and get in or get out!
Ugly or pretty, it’s still my city.
Say what you will, but get in or get out!

We never thought that he would leave this town.
We always that he would hang around getting old with the rest.
Jean jackets folded on his closet shelf.
The weather begs for leather coats… Ah well.
I’m pulling the alarm, so get in or get out.

Ugly or pretty, it’s still my city.
Make up your mind and get in or get out!
Ugly or pretty, it’s still my city.
Say what you will, but get in or get out!

Hot Hot HeatGet In or Get Out

dscn1099-sm.jpg

So if you’re thinking you’ll come visit me to go mountain biking any time soon you might want to reconsider. I realize that the midwest has gotten it’s fair share of snow and ice lately, but since it was Wednesday and I had to travel to Boulder, it snowed here again. The news said that the normal temperature should have been 50 degrees. Personally, I think it’s me. In fact Al Gore is doing his next PowerPoint on the weather patterns that follow me around.

A couple of weekends ago, my friend Laura had a flat tire in the Safeway parking lot. Fortunately, her main squeeze was there to wrestle the offending tire from the vehicle and successfully replace it with the spare. When he finished, he earned extra brownie points by replacing the jack, handle and tire iron back in their storage locations in the trunk, who does that?!? I came along and brought my hydraulic floor jack which proved to be less than useful. I guess the moral of the story is that if you have a flat tire, don’t call me unless you need someone to document the event 🙂 .

dscn1091-sm.jpg dscn1096-cropped.jpg dscn1097-cropped.jpg

miami-mag.jpgAlso last week, I received in the mail a copy of “Miami” magazine. Now I graduated from the U of M in 1986. I have never contributed any money to them and I’ve never looked back. I’ve never contacted them, I’ve never returned their calls, I’ve never initiated contact of any kind. Yet they have found me at every place I’ve lived since I graduated. I swear the only thing that makes sense is that they are somehow tied into the Social Security/IRS database. It’s evil how they can find people.

Speaking of evil, on February 13th I caught George W on Good Morning America. I was doing my morning routine and had turned the TV on. George was talking about Iran (Iran is the new Iraq), it’s people and it’s government. I came in in the middle of his interview and this is what he was saying: “…and they got a government that is aahh, belligerent, loud, noisy, aahh threatening. A government which is in defiance of the rest of the world… …so our objective is to continue to keep the pressure in hopes that rational folks will show up and say, ‘it’s not worth it. It’s not worth the isolation’.” I had to rewind it about eight times to let that sink in. Freudian Projection: “A defense mechanism in which the individual attributes to other people impulses and traits that he himself has but cannot accept. It is especially likely to occur when the person lacks insight into his own impulses and traits.”

queen-esther-poultry-cropped.jpgIf you’re Jewish, have Jewish friends or watch The Daily Show, you may know that Purim was last week. I trust we all got out our graggers, drank more wine than we should’ve and read the whole Megillah 🙂 . You should’ve made your way down to New York Kosher to pick up some Queen Esther Poultry for your Purim Feast.

In honor of March Mammal Madness, I wandered across the street from my housing complex to visit the Prairie Dog Colony. Actually, I discovered the colony only last week when Mitch, Laura and I went out shopping. We were leaving my place and Laura pointed it out. Then some March Mammal Madness comment was made and Laura said something about working for the Dumb Friends League and then some kind of fight ensued. The truck was weaving all over the road, bottles were thrown, pedestrians were diving out of the way, the music was playing much too loud, I grabbed the wheel at one point and finally, we stopped by hitting a parked police car. I think that’s what happened anyway, I stopped paying attention when I realized I had a prairie dog colony across the street from my house 🙂 .

dscn1111-cropped.jpg dscn1109-sm.jpg

I’ve managed to make it to a couple of shows in the past two weeks. I saw “1001” on February 20th. It was a play that had scenes from ancient Baghdad, post 9/11 in New York, a couple where he was Jewish and she was Palestinian, Osama Bin Laden rapping the Vincent Price part from Michael Jackson’s Thriller video…. All in all a pretty good time.

Betsy, Mitch and I also caught “Heartbeat” on March 1st. Drums, dance, Asian Babes On Parade… what more could you ask for? I’m not quite sure it was, “the most lavish and spectacular percussion dance show ever produced” as it was billed, but it was quite enjoyable. If precision wasn’t the main focus, the humor, talented cast, cute women and sheer number of dancers more than made up for it. Check it out if it comes to your town.

 That’s about all the stories I have for you this time through. My hair has gotten way too long, so I’m in search of a good stylist.  It took Knox and I about a year to finally find Anita The Wonderful Hairdresser, so I’m not sure how long this will take. I’ve gone to a salon here a couple of times, but I’m just not all that happy with them. Ah well, the quest continues. I’m sure I’ll have more stories next time. Like Scheherazade asked, “What are any of us, but a collection of stories?” Wow, that reminds me of “Generation X” by Douglas Coupland. I’ll have to get that out and read it again.

Cheers,

                     – G

One Comment leave one →
  1. JSee permalink
    March 5, 2007 5:09 am

    I don’t know what to say except that I’m just sure that you didn’t know about them prairie dogs when we were there.
    You’ll probably be sick to death of them by the time we come back to visit.
    Just like Kenny and I going to the Alamo. “Oh, you want to visit the Alamo? Yippee. No, it’s ok, we’ve only been there 18 times.”
    Love ya
    Jill

Leave a Reply

