Skip to content

Springtime in the Rockies

April 4, 2007

When it’s Springtime in the rockies,
I’ll be coming back to you;
Little sweetheart of the mountains,
With your bonnie eyes of blue;
Once again I’ll say I love you,
While the birds sing all the day.
When it’s Springtime in the rockies,
In the rockies far away.

The twilight shadows deepen into night dear,
The city lights are gleaming o’er the snow;
I sit alone beside the cheery fireside;
I’m dreaming dreams from out the long ago;
I fancy it is Springtime in the rockies,
The flowers with their colors are aflame;
And though I long to be back in the rockies,
I’ll wait until the Springtime comes again.

When it’s Springtime in the rockies,
I’ll be coming back to you;
Little sweetheart of the mountains,
With your bonnie eyes of blue;
Once again I’ll say I love you,
While the birds sing all the day.
When it’s Springtime in the rockies,
In the rockies far away.

Gene AutryWhen it’s Springtime in the Rockies

So it’s finally doing that “it-snows-and-then-it’s-60-degrees-the-next-day” thing that everyone has promised me happens here. Here’s the pictures from Thursday morning, Thursday afternoon and Saturday morning (March 29th and March 31st).

thrusday-morning.jpg thrusday-afternoon.jpg friday-morning.jpg

blacksnakemoan.jpgI’ve been trying to keep busy here. Work keeps threatening to encroach on my personal life, but I’m managing to keep it at bay. Last weekend Mitch, Laura and I made it out to see Black Snake Moan. I would recommend it. Not only do you get to see Christina Ricci running around in her panties for the first half of the movie, there’s a wicked good blues soundtrack and an ending that’s refreshing for an independent film. Mitch joked that Rae (Ricci’s character) must have a hell of a southern white trash workout routine. I said, “yeah, 3 hours at the gym and then into town for beer and cigarettes.” The website even has an “Are you a nymph?” quiz. Quality viewing for one and all. Next I want to see The Host, billed as “One of the greatest monster movies ever made” by Logan Hill of New York Magazine. I doubt I’ll get anyone to go with me though. I’m not sure if it’s because my friends don’t like scary movies or they don’t like going with *me* to scary movies 🙂 .

I received a Bible Faith Handkerchief from Saint Mathew’s Churches in Tulsa, Okalahoma. I feel so blessed. Apparently, “God instructs ministers to send Bible Faith Handkerchiefs to peoples homes, and, as a result, miracles of blessings occur.” That’s what the accompanying paperwork says anyway. By the way, the “handkerchief” is a beautiful 8.5 X 11 sheet of paper printed on both sides with an image of a handkerchief. In order to receive blessings however, I’ve got some fairly complicated instructions to comply with. I’m supposed to print my name and my most pressing problem (or the name someone who needs God’s help) in the center of the handkerchief. Then I’m to open my bible to Acts, chapter 19, verses 11, 12 and lay the handkerchief on this scripture. I then put the bible and handkerchief UNDER my bed for TONIGHT ONLY so I can sleep over it. Then, I send it back to Saint Mathew’s Churches so they can do something with it. I’m guessing dance naked with it behind huge, iron hinged, oaken doors. Oh yeah, I’m also supposed to pray about “sowing a biblical seed offering unto the Lord” which I can only assume means send them money. Personally I prefer to get my blessings from the Landover Baptist Church site 🙂 .

 I finished my taxes this week. Kind of a pain in the butt what with moving from one state to another, renting my house, travel expenses for job searching, two different state returns, interest from two different banks, schedule E, form 597…. God I’m glad that’s over. Now all I gotta do is wait for the checks to roll in. Yep, I’m getting more than $200 from Illinois and better than $100 from Colorado. Runnin’ with the big dogs now.

Those checks should just about cover the cost of the Windows XP software I finally broke down and bought. Before I left Chicago I bought a 1.6 terra byte server with the intention of installing and learning Linux on it. Ultimately it was going to be my music server. I finally decided that it was worth it to me to spend the $300 bucks so I could set the stupid thing up and actually start using it as a music server rather than as a lovely high tech piece of living room sculpture. Now I spend my evenings swapping discs and editing FLAC tags. I know most of you can’t imagine that kind of excitement, but to an engineer, well, let’s just say the propeller is spinning at full speed 🙂 .

Finally this time out, I’d like to take a minute to remember a really great dog. Leroy was my friend Laura’s companion and family member for almost 15 years. Even though I only knew him for a short time, he was the kind of puppy who made an impression. He was sweet and affectionate and even at 15, always happy to see you walk in the door. He’ll be missed by those who knew him and remembered fondly by those who loved him. Who’s the best puppy ever?!? Who’s the puppy?! I think it’s you! Yes it is! He’s the good dog! He’s the puppy! Yes he is!

leroy-1.jpg leroy-and-annie.jpg leroy-2.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2007 9:29 am

    I wanted to see Black Snake Moan as well, but so far it hasn’t quite made it to Hicksville, er I mean, Marshalltown. I would LOVE to see Grindhouse with you but you’re there and I’m here. We’ll have to get it on DVD later and have a Grindhouse Double Feature night!!

    It’s doing that weird weather thing here in Iowa as well… this morning it was 18 degrees – last Thursday – 80. I don’t get it.

    I miss you! Happy Springtime!

Leave a Reply

