Skip to content

The Bluest Skies

July 8, 2007

The bluest skies you’ve ever seen are in Seattle
And the hills the greenest green, in Seattle
Like a beautiful child, growing up, free an’ wild
Full of hopes an’ full of fears, full of laughter, full of tears
Full of dreams to last the years, in Seattle
. . . in Seattle!

When it’s time to leave your home and your loved ones
It’s the hardest thing a boy can ever do
An’ you pray that you will find
someone warm an’ sweet an’ kind
But you’re not sure what’s waiting there for you!

The bluest skies you’ve ever seen are in Seattle
And the hills the greenest green, in Seattle
Like a beautiful child, growing up, free an’ wild
Full of hopes an’ full of fears, full of laughter, full of tears
Full of dreams to last the years, in Seattle
. . . in Seattle!

When you find your own true love, you will know it
By her smile, by the look in her eye
Scent of pine trees in the air, never knew a day so fair
It makes you feel so proud that you could cry!

The bluest skies you’ve ever seen are in Seattle
And the hills the greenest green, in Seattle
Like a beautiful child, growing up, free an’ wild
Full of hopes an’ full of fears, full of laughter, full of tears
Full of dreams to last the years, in Seattle
. . . in Seattle!

In Seattle . . . in Seattle . . . in Seattle!

Bobby ShermanSeattle

Okay, so I’ve actually got a couple of blogs to get out, but I’ve been busy, y’know? The first blog, if the song wasn’t a give away, is about my trip to Seattle a few weekends ago. Who remembers Bobby Sherman? Julie truly Julie do you love me? Easy come, easy go? I recall singing along on the bus to school with the 8 track our bus driver, Vern, played to keep us quiet.

I took a much needed break June 14th and headed off to the Pacific Northwest. I left on Thursday evening and returned the following Tuesday. Managed to make it to the Space Needle, the San Juan Islands, Mount Rainer and Vancouver B.C.. Naturally I took a ton of pictures and I’m constantly running out of space at WordPress. I’ll post a batch here and hope you enjoy.

The first day we did touristy things in downtown Seattle. This is a shot from the O Deck at the top of the Space Needle, built in 1962 for the worlds fair. The Science Fiction museum is right there as well, but alas there was no time to check it out. I know, you’re ashamed that tech weenie Greg didn’t make it to the Sci Fi museum. Just a reason to go back I guess.

dscn1351-sm.jpg

Next, we headed to the San Juan Islands. We were going to hit San Juan Island but we didn’t make the ferry, so we went to Orcas Island instead. After getting off the ferry we made our way up to Mount Constitution, Orcas’ highest peak at a whopping 2,409 feet!! Yeah, that’s about halfway up to Denver 🙂 . But I guess you can see sea level from the top, so I should shut up. It’s located in Moran State Park, so I want to know why Jim didn’t tell us about his park in Washington?!? There’s an observation tower at the peak and that’s where these shots came from.

dscn1377-sm.jpg dsc00571-sm.jpg dscn1375-sm.jpg

Sunday, we drove to Mount Rainer. We drove to the visitor’s information center located in “Paradise” first. Apparently you can drive to Paradise 🙂 . Although it was only at 5,400 feet, there was snow up there. Mount Rainer is a “14eer” (14,410) but we didn’t go any higher than the visitor’s center. No snow in June for me thanks. We did find a trail at a little lower elevation and managed to wind our way through some really beautiful scenery. I kept thinking of Laura Palmer though….

dscn1402-sm.jpg dscn1432-sm.jpg dscn1422-sm.jpg

Finally on Monday we headed up to Vancouver. The Capilano Suspension Bridge spans the Capilano river. It’s 450 across and 230 feet above the river; what a perfect place for Jill to visit!! Actually it’s pretty cool with a park and nature preserve and such. There are trails and a “Tree Top Adventure” with suspension bridges between these 300 and 400 year old Douglas Fir trees and a Story Centre with actors talking about the park’s history and all kinds of silly things. My favorite thing I over heard was from a Scottish couple who were walking across the bridge when we were. The bridge bounces up and down as people walk so it’s a moving surface you’ve got to navigate. The wife was having a bit of trouble walking and the husband said, “You’ll have to pardon my wife, it’s the drugs.” To which she said, “Oh you bastard!” 🙂

dscn1436-sm.jpg dscn1455-sm.jpg dsc00615-sm.jpg

After the suspension bridge we made our way to Stanley Park and wandered around the gardens. Vancouver is a really nice city, I was liking it a lot. Not too big and filled with Canadians who are really polite drivers. I was in the left turn lane waiting for traffic to clear and this guy actually stopped and waved me through the intersection. No doubt he’d be hauled from his car and get his ass kicked in Chicago 🙂 .

I was happy to get back home though. There’s only so much “overcast and rain” I can overlook after having been spoiled with all the sunshine in Denver. That whole “Bluest skies you’ve ever seen” lyric? Bullshit. No doubt a marketing technique much like the name “Greenland“. Check out that link and tell me where the green is. Don’t you believe it.

I’ve been helping stain Mitch’s house and hiking Mt. Thorodin and ripping CDs and all kinds of stuff, but that will have to wait until next time. I’ll start to work on that when I get a chance. Until then, enjoy your summer folks, it’s half over already!! Love ya,

– G

One Comment leave one →
  1. JSee permalink
    July 9, 2007 6:55 am

    While I dearly love being mentioned in your blogs, you don’t always have to mention me by my fears!! Sheesh!

    And, I must be a little stupid or something, but you were talking about going on a vacation, and then suddenly you’re talking about “we” and never mention who “we” are.

    Who are “we”, Gregory the Great?

    Love,
    Jill

Leave a Reply

