Skip to content

Hour of the Wolf

July 10, 2007

You worry too much / you make yourself sad
You can’t change fate / but don’t feel so bad
Enjoy it while you can / it’s just like the weather
So quit complaining brother,
No one lives forever!!

Let’s have a party there’s a full moon in the sky
It’s the hour of the wolf and I don’t wanna die

I’m so happy dancing while the grim reaper
Cuts, cuts, cuts
But he can’t get me
I’m as clever as can be, and I’m very quick,
But don’t forget you’ve only got so many tricks
No one lives forever!!!

You think you got it rough (ruff?) / what about your darling doggy?
Ten short years / he’s getting old and groggy
I don’t think it’s very fair
Cold, chop, low, but it’s all relative my friend
No one lives forever!!!

Let’s have a party there’s a full moon in the sky
It’s the hour of the wolf and I don’t wanna die (but) . . .

I’m so happy dancing while the grim reaper
Cuts, cuts, cuts
But he can’t get me
I’m as clever as can be, and I’m very quick,
But don’t forget you’ve only got so many tricks
No one lives forever!!!

No one beats him at his game for very long, but just the same
Who cares, there’s no place safe to hide, nowhere to run–no time to cry
So celebrate while you still can
Cause any second it may end.
And when it’s all been said and done,
Better that you had some fun
Instead of hiding in a shell
Why make your life a living hell?
So drink a toast, and down the cup
And drink to bones that turn to dust (cause) . . .
No one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one, no one
No one lives forever!! (HEY!)

Oingo BoingoNo One Lives Forever

“The Hour of the Wolf” is the hour between night and dawn. It is the hour when most people die. It is the hour when the sleepless are haunted by their deepest fear, when ghosts and demons are most powerful. – Tagline to Vargtimmen, Bergman’s 1968 horror film.

I’ve seen a bunch of wildlife since I’ve been out here. Of course the prarie dogs across the street are still poking their heads out, but I’ve seen a fox running through our complex, lots of elk on trips out to client’s houses, deer, chipmunks…. I was on my way back from Kittridge the other day and came across a young elk grazing near the Evergreen Parkway. I got a great shot of him when he spotted me. I just missed a shot of him jumping off the 12 foot retaining wall right after this. So cool.

dscn1470-sm.jpg

Mitch, Laura and I started staining Mitch’s deck on the last weekend in May. That kinda turned into Mitch staining his shed and entire house as well. We just finished up this past weekend. To be honest, he did most of the work and finishing up projects has been his goal this summer. Back in May, we did the deck railing and hot tub, but then Laura had to get away from the testosterone that was just pouring off of us two virile men 🙂 .

Mitch and I finished up the two sheds that weekend and I arrived this weekend just in time to watch him finish up all but the back wall of his house, which we knocked out in relatively short order. I’ve been telling people that I’m building up hot tub credits. Some lucky lady from match.com will no doubt reap the benefits of all my hard work. Once we finished the staining, Mitch drove the last nail in his railing that he’d saved to signify the deck was entirely finished. Of course it’s tempting fate and the clouds gathered even as he nailed the railing, but at some point you’ve just got to call things finished.

dscn1339-sm.jpg dscn1476-sm.jpg dscn1477-sm.jpg

From Mitch’s deck you can see Mount Thorodin. After staining on Saturday, we decided to test our manhood and stamina by making our way up Mount Thorodin on Sunday. We set off without a trail or a compass and managed to power our way up to the top of one of the rocky peaks.

dscn1511-sm.jpg thorodin-trail.jpg dscn1481-sm.jpg

The views were awesome. Oddly enough, we had cell service up there, so we decided to make some calls and send some text messages 🙂 . Can you hear me now?

dscn1484-sm.jpg dscn1502-sm.jpg dscn1505-sm.jpg

When Mitch first suggested we make the hike, I wasn’t sure whether or not to go. I’ve been really busy at work and frustrated about process issues there. I also spent a couple of weekends burning CDs for a client. This was an entirely voluntary thing and I did it because the client is a great guy and has excellent taste in music. And because I got to keep an “off site backup” of his music just in case he has trouble with the tunes. Even so, it took away two weekends. All of that has left me precious little time to clean the house, shop for groceries, do laundry, write e-mails to my match.com girls, put together a blog, etc.. I was thinking I could use the Sunday to look after some of those things, but I’m really glad I decided to hike the mountain instead.

On the way up the mountain, we heard sirens and eventually heard and saw a life flight helicopter. No doubt someone had a very unhappy weekend. Y’know, it sucks not to have the resources to do all the things you’d like to do. It’s hard when you know that there are better ways to do things, but circumstances seem to get in the way of changes. But, I’ve got to keep in mind *why* I picked up my life after 20 years and moved out here. It’s difficult sometimes to keep focused on the idea that I’m trying to find a life for myself outside of work and the mundane, day to day stuff. So since we’re the authors of our life stories, I guess we should try to make it an interesting read. Climbing to the top of a rocky peak seems like an interesting chapter. There were certainly a couple of moments scambling over boulders with a shear drop onto more boulders that *I* thought were exciting. Who can tell when the life flight ‘copter will come for any of us. No one lives forever! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2007 10:50 am

    Who can tell when the copter will come, indeed. Careful what you hope for!

    I had the dubious pleasure of attending an ATV rollover accident last week on Imogene Pass and calling the Flight for Life chopper in. We were fortunate that an EMT from Texas happened to drive by after not too long, and that Ouray Mountain Rescue are a fantastic bunch.

  2. JSee permalink
    July 11, 2007 7:42 am

    Wow! Manly men doing manly things!

    It seems like only yesterday that we were making short jokes about Mitch….

    Oh well, even though I’ve been home almost constantly since I was in the hospital, no one called ME from the top of a mountain, but I suppose that’s ok…. I’m not single and beautiful after all.

    I’m glad that no life flight helicopters had to fetch either of you, and that “a good time was had by all”!

    Love ya!
    Jill

Leave a Reply

