Skip to content

Let’s Review, Shall We?

October 8, 2007

Sometimes you start feelin’ so lost and lonely
Then you’ll find it’s all been in your mind
Sometimes you think someone is the one and only
Can’t you see, it could be you and me?
But if there’s any doubt
Then I think I’ll leave it out

’cause I’ll tell you one thing
You can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want
Said you can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want

Sometimes you keep busy reaching out for something
You don’t care, there’s always something there
Sometimes you can’t see that all you need is one thing
If it’s right, you could sleep at night
But it can take some time
But at least I’m here in line

’cause I’ll tell you one thing
You can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want
Said you can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want

Sometimes you can’t see that all you need is one thing
If it’s right, you could sleep at night
But it can take some time
But at least I’m here in line

’cause I’ll tell you one thing
You can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want
Said you can’t get what you want
Till you know what you want

Joe JacksonYou Can’t Get What You Want

That Joe Jackson song is one of my favs, it completely kicks ass. So yeah, seems I’ve been unable to get my blog together lately, huh? It’s been over a year since I made my way out west to seek my fortunes. I started at ListenUp in September of last year. My first week at work was the CEDIA trade show, Ken and Jill came to visit and my brother stopped by to see where I lived. Since then it’s been nothing except for Ken and Jill who visited again last month and my brother Jeff who was here working with the U. P.. What, you rat bastards can’t take time out of your busy schedules to make your way out to see me? 🙂

I can’t decide whether to say, “I can’t believe it’s *only* been a year” or “I can’t believe it’s *already* been a year”. In some ways, the year has flown by and in others it’s dragged on forever. I’ve been trying to sort out how I feel about it since the anniversary date passed but I still haven’t put it all together. That’s one of the reasons this blog has taken so long to get out. I don’t want to work out how I feel in print and have to answer everyone’s questions about every little thing I write. So rather than expose you to how I feel, which may run the gamut from teenage angst that had an expiration date of 30 years ago, to elation at the fact that I live in a place where the sun shines almost every day, I’ll let you know what I’ve done since the last post.

As I said, the CEDIA show was here a year ago and it was here again this past September. CEDIA: either “sort of the governing body that oversees all that we do” or “Caucasian Electronics Dorks In Abundance” is a trade show for the A/V industry.  John and the BAVI crew were out for the show. They were hoping to stay at the Red Lion that they stayed in last year, but somewhere there was a mixup and they ended up out in the Stapleton area in northeast Denver. This was the view from John and Paul’s room:

dscn1556-tweaked.jpg

Scenic, huh? Next year you guys should stay at the Holiday Inn on Colorado Blvd. if for no other reason than location. Certain visitors from out of town will know what I mean. Anyway, the show was fun with lots of silly audio/video gear including a 108″ LCD TV and an $8000.00 Turntable. The turntable I’m not even going to talk about because there’s no way to explain the type of people that spend their money on those kinds of things. Here’s a bit of information on the TV however, in case you’re thinking about picking one up. Keep in mind that no matter what room you want to put it in, you’ll need to have a path *to* that room that the TV will actually fit down. 108 inches of NON-BENDING glass and electronics. Also, once you actually *get* the TV to the room, you’ll need to have a wall that can support 600+ pounds of glass and electronics. This isn’t something that you can hang with a couple of drywall screws.

dscn1545-tweaked.jpg dscn1549-tweaked.jpg

Anyway, the week following the show was Nan Desu Kan, an anime convention here in Denver. Ken and Jill made the trek up here from Austin to attend with me. The show was held in a hotel in southeast Denver and lots of anime otaku stayed in the hotel. Naturally there were a lot of cosplayers and Japanophiles at the convention. All in all, a place where the weird and disenfranchised can feel at home among their peers. I was right at home. 🙂

dscn1565-tweaked.jpg dscn1568-tweaked.jpg dscn1570-tweaked.jpg

dscn1571-tweaked.jpg dscn1572-tweaked.jpg dscn1575-tweaked.jpg

The guy dressed all in black with the gas mask is from Jin-Roh (The Wolf Brigade) and the giant Panda is from Ranma 1/2. Apart from that, I’m not really sure what the others are from. Maybe John Brisk can help out here. I was particularly fond of the guys with the punctuation marks above their heads, cracked me up. Jill managed to turn me down the dark path of purchasing a translated Japanese graphic novel or Manga amongst those in the know. Without going into all the minutia of my particular obsession, most anime comes from manga. So now I’ve started buying the books the videos are based on and it’s all Jill’s fault. I just want that on record; that it’s all Jill’s fault.

The end of September brought Laura’s birthday and a jam session/bar-b-que at Mitch’s house. Laura had 7 candles on her cake arranged in a group of 4 and of 3, so how old is she? That’s right, 34. I have pictures, but none that anyone who attended would be happy that I posted so instead, here are some pictures of the aspens here in the mountains.

dscn1604-tweaked.jpg dscn1607-sized.jpg

Quick nature lesson here. The aspens are deciduous and are sprinkled amongst the lodge poll pines here. In the fall, they go a brilliant golden yellow and it makes for these really colorful explosions amongst all the evergreens. It can’t really be captured in pictures, so you’ll have to trust me when I say it’s impressive.

I suppose I could ramble on here forever about things like why the disclaimer on the Veramyst commercial is my favorite (The way Veramyst works is not entirely understood) or how Marshalltown, Iowa ended up on Good Morning America this morning, but I suppose I should get this sent off so I can start putting off writing the next one. Before I let you go though, now that the Cubs are out of it, how about if everyone pulls for the Rockies?

   – G

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

