Skip to content

BAGPUSS SEES ALL THINGS

March 2, 2008

Come.
Come.
Come.
Come.

Come.
Come.
Come.
Come.

Come.
Come.
Come.
Come.

Come.
Come.
Come.
Come.

Come.
Come.
Come.
Come.

Lemon JellyCome

Lemon Jelly, just an awesome band. The blog title this time comes from one of their songs… sort of. Ten bucks to the first person who can tell me which song and where it comes from.  Oh, and if you’re familiar with that Friskies commercial where the grey tabby is playing in an animated world with butterflies and such, that’s Lemon Jelly’s “Spacewalk” playing in the background.

I’m not sure why, but I’ve been watching these bleak “what if” shows lately. Life After People gave me a sad, humble, but then ultimately reassuring feeling about our small place in the universe. Apparently if all of mankind disappeared from the surface of the Earth, all traces of our civilization would pretty much be gone after 10,000 years.

<Beginning of political spouting off> (end will be marked similarly)

What If: the Oil Runs Out made me wish I’d bought a hybrid as soon as they came out; and that everyone else did too. The dramatizations were a bit over the top with everyone driving Yukons, Suburbans or some other huge fucking SUV, but the point was made. “(If we don’t develop some alternative means of getting our energy) then we’re gonna have a ‘bullies get in line first’.  And ‘bullies get in line first’ develops into fist fights and fist fights become wars.”

Energy War examined how nations like Russia, Iran and Venezuela use their oil as a political weapon to advance their own agendas. Thomas Friedman, author of “The World Is Flat“, asks, “Is it just an accident that when the price of oil was $20 to $30 a barrel, Iran was calling for a dialog of civilizations and when oil hit $70 a barrel, Iran was calling for the destruction of Israel?” He also went on to plot the price of oil and the pace of freedom as determined by the Freedom House Index of freedoms. He found that the two had an inverse correlation in countries that had large oil reserves and weak governmental institutions or authoritarian governments. Russia, Iran and Venezuela to be specific. Petro Authoritarianism if you will. It went on to talk about India and China entering the world market and the impact that would have.

So here’s the deal folks, Alternative Energy is no longer a fight as to whether or not we can afford to drive our SUVs and enjoy a comfortable way of life that cheap energy provides. But rather, will our energy demands force us to kowtow to the regimes using oil as a political tool or will we fight to be energy independent? Solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydrogen, renewable. That is where our hope for the future is, not in fossil fuels. If the reality that oil reserves are finite resources doesn’t persuade you, the fact that authoritarian leaders are in charge of most of the oil in the world should. How do you think our politics with the middle east would differ if oil wasn’t an issue? Do you think it would be easier to convince Chavez in Venezuela to educate his populace if we didn’t have to buy oil from him? Would it be easier to convince Iran and Saudi Arabia to grant freedoms to women if we didn’t have to buy oil from them? Would we be worried about green house gases as much if oil wasn’t the primary driving force behind so much or our economy?

<End of political spouting off>

Yesterday we set a record high in Denver of 74 degrees. My cute blond neighbor was out washing her Honda in shorts, something I would like to encourage her to keep doing 🙂 . Today, I’ve got 3 1/2″ of snow on my deck. CDOT is worried about the freezing and thawing not just causing potholes, but lots more boulders falling off mountains on to the roads here. Wow, hadn’t considered *THAT* when I moved out here 🙂 . And it’s been an exciting avalanche season here as well. Don’t worry though Mom, I’ve only gotten out once this year and haven’t been anywhere near being out of bounds.

chicago-sm.jpgIs anybody else in the midst of the winter doldrums like me? I’m getting things done, but just seem sluggish lately. One of the things I was able to get done is frame a huge picture of Chicago I’ve had sitting around my living room for a while. I printed it out on our plotter at work on this big ass roll of glossy stock photo paper. It’s a nice shot of the Chicago river at night and it’s finally hanging over my fireplace. Almost every picture I have on my walls downstairs now is either a picture I’ve taken or one someone I know has taken.

dscn1687-sm.jpgI’ve also been honing my oven roasting skills. After a few phone calls to Mom, I decided to give it a whirl with a pork loin I’d bought. The result is the picture to the left. Those green things on either side of the plate are broccoli stalks that I roasted along with the pork loin. I don’t want to hear about how weird they look or why I have them there or whatever. I made a broccoli salad earlier in the week and had them left over. If I’d had a batch of carrots, celery and potatoes left over, I would’ve used those instead. And yes, the broccoli was delicious 🙂 . Had leftovers for a week. I’ve got to get out and about more so there are better pictures for this blog 🙂 .

djk-11-6-07.jpgOn a final note, congratulations to Jon and Paola Kindred on their new arrival, Dane Garvis Kindred who was born November 6th  weighing in at 9 lbs, 9 oz and 22″. Yeah, I know, November 6th doesn’t seem like a “new” arrival to me either, but blame Jon for that.  I’m sure Dane is no longer 9 lbs or 22″ any more.  Hell, he’s probably taken the LSATs by now. In any case, join me in wishing them well. (love you guys 🙂 )

         – G

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 10:12 am

    Bagpuss sees all things is from ramblin man

Leave a Reply

