Skip to content

Slidey Shelves and Poligamy

April 21, 2008

Make a hole with a gun perpendicular
To the name of this town in a desk-top globe
Exit wound in a foreign nation
Showing the home of the one this was written for
My apartment looks upside down from there
Water spirals the wrong way out the sink
And her voice is a backwards record
It’s like a whirlpool and it never ends

Ana Ng and I are getting old
And we still haven’t walked in the glow of each other’s majestic presence
Listen Ana hear my words
They’re the ones you would think I would say if there was a me for you

All alone at the ’64 world’s fair
Eighty dolls yelling, “small girl after all”
Who was at the DuPont pavilion?
Why was the bench still warm? Who had been there?
Or the time when the storm tangled up the wire
To the horn on the pole at the bus depot
And in the back of the edge of hearing
These are the words the voice was repeating:

Ana Ng and I are getting old
And we still haven’t walked in the glow of each other’s majestic presence
Listen Ana hear my words
They’re the ones you would think I would say if there was a me for you

When I was driving once I saw this painted on a bridge:
I don’t want the world, I just want your half

They don’t need me here, and I know you’re there (don’t need me)
Where the world goes by like the humid air (world goes by)
And it sticks like a broken record
Everything sticks like a broken record
Everything sticks until it goes away (it goes home)
And the truth is, we don’t know anything (don’t know)

Ana Ng and I are getting old
And we still haven’t walked in the glow of each other’s majestic presence
Listen Ana hear my words
They’re the ones you would think I would say if there was a me for you

They Might Be GiantsAna Ng

I’ve got to say I’m a little bummed this time out. Asian TV has gone off the air not to return. I used to catch the random movie or anime on it and I’ll miss it 😦 .

So I’ve been watching the Texas polygamy mess like a train wreck I can’t turn away from. I don’t know if the other stations are getting interviews with the same people that ABC is, but one of the mothers that ABC interviewed has a wicked unibrow. She reminds me of that Planter’s Nut’s Superbowl ad with that oh-so-attractive unibrow girl in it. Honey, pick up some tweezers today while you’re outside the compound.

Personally, I don’t care if those wacky FLDS folks want to marry multiple spouses. What I *do* have a problem with is the physical abuse of the wives and children as well as the sexual abuse involved when children are forced into “marriage” with the men. Bill Mar had an excellent observation on last week’s “Real Time New Rules“. He said, “Whenever you combine a secretive compound, religion and weirdos in pioneer outfits, there’s gonna be some child fucking going on.” Ain’t it the truth.

 Now, taking children from their homes and their mothers is pretty whacked as well and my heart goes out to these women who’ve had their children removed to the custody of the state. Texas isn’t really known for it’s compassionate brand of law enforcement. By the same token however, when these women are asked about sharing a husband with multiple wives (*still* illegal whether I care if it happens or not) they get very coy. “I cannot answer that at this time, it is sacred to me.” WTF does that mean?!? When asked if 14, 15, 16 year old girls get married there, they deflect with, “We are talking about our children right now.” They continue this deflection even when pressed. I understand you want your children back, but if they’re going to be forced into a “marriage” with an older man at 15, you ain’t gettin’ your kids back honey. There are guys that have starred on “To Catch a Predator” that are serving time for that shit.

On another topic, is anyone else starting to get creeped out by those “Small Step” PSAs about losing weight? In the words of Doug and Bob McKenzie, “That was funny at first, but now it just bugs me.” I think the Spare Tire one was the one that pushed me over the edge. Kinda hairy with a mole next to the belly button? Dude, that’s nasty.

Hey, remember the fixing the dishwasher post? Last weekend I fixed my dryer. And the week previous, I fixed my computer’s LCD screen. Seems like everything’sfalling apart lately, but I’ve been trying to keep the plates spinning. The dryer needed a new seal for the front of the drum. The old one came apart and got all jammed up causing the drum to not rotate. This seemed to be counter productive to the dryer’s “drying” capabilities. It did burn a Saturday’s worth of my time, but the seal was $30 and that seemed a bit cheaper than buying a new dryer 🙂 .

I managed to poke around the house again this weekend and get some inexpensive improvements done. New lights for the deck awning, new kitty food storage drawer and new slidey shelf for the pantry. I’d love to add a batch more slidey shelves, but those puppies are pretty expensive.

You might’ve guessed that there’s not a lot going on here lately. I did catch Laurie Anderson on the 12th of this month. (I had a date, but I’m not posting about possibilities until I have more to tell.) An excellent show and included special guest Lou Reed. Apparently Laurie and Lou are together as a couple, which I was surprised to hear. I never actually knew her “companionship preference” (obviously), but I thought she liked women. Learn somethin’ new every day.

Kraftwerk is playing here on Wednesday, Joe Jackson on May 1st and I’m headed to Chicago the week of May 6th. Maybe life will be more interesting next post 🙂 .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

