Skip to content

Changing Time

November 13, 2008

Come gather ’round people wherever you roam
And admit that the waters around you have grown
And accept it that soon you’ll be drenched to the bone.
If your time to you is worth savin’
Then you better start swimmin’ or you’ll sink like a stone
For the times they are a-changin’.

Come writers and critics who prophesize with your pen
And keep your eyes wide the chance won’t come again
And don’t speak too soon for the wheel’s still in spin
And there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’.
For the loser now will be later to win
For the times they are a-changin’.

Come senators, congressmen please heed the call
Don’t stand in the doorway don’t block up the hall
For he that gets hurt will be he who has stalled
There’s a battle outside and it is ragin’.
It’ll soon shake your windows and rattle your walls
For the times they are a-changin’.

Come mothers and fathers throughout the land
And don’t criticize what you can’t understand
Your sons and your daughters are beyond your command
Your old road is rapidly agin’.
Please get out of the new one if you can’t lend your hand
For the times they are a-changin’.

The line it is drawn the curse it is cast
The slow one now will later be fast
As the present now will later be past
The order is rapidly fadin’.
And the first one now will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’.

Bob DylanThe Times They Are A – Changin’

Okay sorry about the ’60’s song, I’m actually not a fan of tunes from that era… at all. To paraphrase The Clash, “If you’ve been playin’ (that crap) for years, we’ve already heard your song!” I’ve actually had a discussion with a guy at work who’s 2 years younger than I am about ’60’s music being old and tired. He loves it and I just roll my eyes. All of that aside, the above song fits my blog so well that I had to make a concession in my distaste for 40 year old music.

If you’ve spent any time with me as we head in to winter, you know that I hold as much contempt for the time change and the shorter days as I do for ’60’s music. I don’t care if it supposedly does save money for businesses, I’d rather they move clocks in the *opposite* direction when Daylight Savings Time ends in the fall. Pain in my ass to come home in the dark

I suppose it’s inevitable that I get in a pissy mood this time of year. Work tends to ramp up with all the holidays coming up and Clients tend to get more demanding. Add to that the crappy economy, the stress of trying to plan for the holidays and the hibernation mode inducing short days and I’m not a very happy camper these days.

So this was of course the perfect time for cutbacks at work. Yes folks, the overspending, under regulating, recession inducing economic policies of the Bush administration have caught up with my company out here in Denver. I guess I didn’t realize that when they talked about “trickle down” it meant they were going to piss on all of us middle income people 🙂 .

So let’s have a quick recap to my 2+ year odyssey out west shall we? When I started, there were 5 guys in the engineering department counting me. Since then, all 4 of the others have either left or been let go and they’ve hired 1 manager. The engineering department now consists of 1 engineer/programmer (me) and 1 manager. When I started I was going to come in at 8, leave at 5 and travel all of 5 miles round trip for work. Design Engineer was to be my title and occupation. I was going to find a life outside of work, remember? Ah, those were heady times with the promise of a life of purpose before me.

I’ve moved to the fittest city in the US and gained 40 pounds. I’ve managed to put over 1000 miles on my car last month traveling to and from job sites. I tend to spend my evenings vacillating between being happy that I actually have a job in these economic times and wondering what the hell just happened 🙂 .

In the face of all that, I’m hopeful for the future. There’s new administration of “elites” coming into Washington, THANK GOD! In times like these, I want the most elite, best educated, get down to business group in charge that we can possibly get. The Green Berets are elite. The Navy Seals are elite. I pray that the Obama administration will be equally elite.

Apart from that, unless my company gives up on “custom install” entirely, I’m the only programmer of merit currently, so I’ll no doubt have a job for the forseeable future. And when things get stressful like they are now, I always have the wildlife to look at as I travel to and from Client’s houses. C’mon December 21st, we’ve got to reverse this “short day” trend we’ve embarked on 🙂 . Everyone have a great holiday season in case I don’t get a chance to wish you that personally. Love ya,

– G

Elk in Genesee

Elk in Genesee

Elk stag in Genesee

Stag in Genesee

Highland cattle in South Park

Highland cattle in South Park

Mule deer in Colorado Springs

Mule deer in Colorado Springs

Wild Turkeys in Colorado Springs

Wild turkeys in Colorado Springs

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nette permalink
    November 14, 2008 7:09 am

    I see wildlife on my way to work too! Unfortunately it’s usually dead and it’s guts are splattered all over the highway… damn farmers!

Leave a Reply

