Skip to content

Too Many Trips Down Memory Lane

February 17, 2009

You have gotten much thinner
You’re lookin’ like a shadow
It’s from dwelling on the might-have-beens
Living in a time-warp
To whom am I speaking? Some ghost from the past?
While you think about old glories
You’re fading real fast
You take too many trips down memory lane
You take too many trips down memory lane
You take another trip down memory lane
You go down there once too often and you’re likely to remain

You play old music
Well some of it’s a bore
To me it’s all irrelevant
Like Haight Street and love beads
Still you want to make a statement
But this nostalgia thing hangs on
Your friends all miss the point cause
They see where you’ve gone
They’ve seen that you’ve gone to…
take too many trips down memory lane
You take too many trips down memory lane
You take another trip down memory lane
You go down there once too often and you’re likely to remain

It’s another flat testimony
Inflated with emotional gas
Though the truth never changes
Shouldn’t you, couldn’t you
Shouldn’t you, couldn’t you (I’m trying)
Couldn’t you, shouldn’t you, couldn’t you, won’t you!

You make a list of all your failures
You count all your heartaches
Please sit up straight at the table
And eat your words
Much too weak
I think complaining is a crime
And like the boy who cries wolf we…
We don’t believe you anymore, we watch you
Travel back in time to…
take too many trips down memory lane
You take too many trips down memory lane
You take another trip down memory lane
You go down there once too often and you’re likely to remain

Daniel AmosMemory Lane

Absolutely the best Christian New Wave Album of 1983! But let’s be honest, what was it’s competition? Age to Age by Amy Grant? Michael W. Smith – Project? Yeah right. (Randy – you, Mike Bovee and Bob Determan are going to be the only ones who get those references.) ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is apparently my month to get back in touch with old friends. Chris Maddi, what up!!! Randy Garmon, holy cow, my college roommate from 1978! And both of you with married children, you’re makin’ me feel old. You realize of course that after this initial contact you won’t hear from me again for another decade, right? As long as we’re clear on that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Welcome to the new year, such as it is. Here in Denver, we started the year off with another Burns Supper. There was much revelry, poetry reading, Scottish food and a wee dram or two. Among the many facts that were learned that night were that “Nine Inch Will Please a Lady” and that “Little Boy Blue” by Eugene Field is Mitch’s favorite poem. We watched almost all of “So I Married An Axe Murderer”, but the DVD I brought along had a grrrrreat uuuge scratch so we didn’t get to see the end. I spent all night crrryin’ on my grrrreat big pilla’. Cooper was nonplussed about the whole affair and decided that rather than trying to figure out what the heck was going on, he would spent most of the evening lying down, happy to be amongst his people.

What's a 'gyvel'?

What's a 'gyvel'?

Behold the Rustic!

Behold the Rustic!

Honest, sonsie faces

Honest, sonsie faces

Wake me when there's leftovers

Wake me when there's leftovers

I spent this past weekend with the McCormac’s at the Beaver Creek ski resort. My entire body is aching as I type. They were in to visit and learn to ski. I headed up Saturday morning and we were joined by Mitch for skiing Sunday. Thanks Mitch, for providing all the pointers and help, I know Knox and company appreciated it. Monday, Knox, Fiona and I headed up to the top of the mountain for one last day. Fiona shamed Knox and I with her fearless attack on all things snow. She was in and out of the trees and constantly asking to head down the blue and black runs. I, on the other hand, was simply trying to make it down before the sun set. I think I had the McCormacs worried since it took me about a half an hour longer that it did Knox and Fi. One day I *will* triumph over the mountain, right after I learn to link turns… and not fall down… and keep my knees bent….

All in all, a pretty relaxing weekend. Oreos were eaten, gin rummy was played, beautiful weather was enjoyed and Advil was taken. I managed to capture a few moments for posterity’s sake.

Intrepid Skiers!

Intrepid Skiers!

2 old guys about to be schooled by a 10 year old

2 old guys about to be schooled by a 10 year old

Yeah, the scenery sucks out here

Yeah, the scenery sucks out here

Last run of the day

Last run of the day

Apres Ski

Apres Ski

I hope you’re beginning to shake off the winter doldrums. Right now the economy sucks the big wiener and I know everyone’s feeling it. If you can’t write and tell me good news, write me to commiserate. ๐Ÿ™‚

– G

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    March 2, 2009 12:38 pm

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

Trackbacks

  1. Posts about DVD News as of February 18, 2009 ยป DVD Newsroom
  2. Topics about Christian life and Bible readings » Archive » Too Many Trips Down Memory Lane
  3. Topics about Music » Too Many Trips Down Memory Lane

Leave a Reply

