Skip to content

Days Go By

May 26, 2009

What Fassbinder film is it?
The one-armed man
Comes into the flower shop and says:
What flower expresses
Days go by
And they just keep going by endlessly
Pulling you
Into the future.
Days go by
Endlessly,
Endlessly pulling you
Into the future.
And the florist says:
White Lily.

Laurie AndersonWhite Lily

Yeah, I know. Days have gone by and I haven’t posted in forever. Originally, I had planned on doing a post/rant about the banking crisis. I had tons of references from Wall Street Watch, Rolling Stone, Keith Olberman and a whole host of others. I was going to talk about the Glass Steagall act, the Securities Act and all kinds of things. It was a good topic for a great rant. Thing is, I got so depressed every time I started to put it together thinking about how badly we’ve been raped by the Banking Industry and the politicians who shepherded the deregulation through the system that I just gave up. When you start wondering whether or not it would be worth the risk/time in prison to hunt down and shoot the asshats responsible for that mess, it’s time to give up. And then days went by.

A Snowy Trail Awaits

A Snowy Trail Awaits

So leaving that topic and getting back to what this blog was originally intended to do, tell my friends and family what I’ve been up to lately; here’s the news. Back in late March, Mitch and I went hiking one weekend. What with our advanced age and all, we decided that it was probably important to actually get out and move once a week or so. In Denver, the “active” seasons are usually in Summer and Winter since the “shoulder seasons” as I’ve heard them called, are usually muddy and prone to quick weather changes. In Chicago, the best seasons seemed to me to be Spring and Fall since Summer was hot and humid and Winter was too damn cold. Our hike was nice enough, but was indeed a bit muddy and chilly at times. It did demonstrate that Mitch’s hypothesis was correct, we definitely need to get out and move *at least* once a week.

Do they make chains for bike tires?

Do they make chains for bike tires?

With that in mind, I went out and purchased a bike the following week. My Fuji bike was stolen out of my garage just a few weeks before I moved out here in 2006 and I’ve been without since then. I picked it up after work one night and it immediately snowed. Of course it did. Eventually I was able to ride to work and I’ve been making the effort to do so whenever possible. It’s a nice ride at about 2 1/2 miles, and the uphill part is in the morning. That makes the ride home after a crappy day a bit easier to take πŸ™‚ .

For those about to Rock

For those about to Rock

We went out to see a Primus cover band on April 1st. Mitch had played with the guys in the band on occasion and we wanted to support them. They played the Bluebird here in Denver, nice venue. Following the Primus cover band was an AC/DC cover band called High Voltage. Here’s the thing, they range in age from 12 to 16. The girl bass player is the tallest member. There’s a few YouTube videos off that link. I tell you, you haven’t seen an AC/DC cover band until you’ve seen a 14 year old boy shirtless, wearing shorts and playing his SG while lying on the floor and spinning in circles. ROCK AND ROLL!!!

Captive viewing

Captive viewing

Mid April brought Easter at Mitch’s house. A batch of the theatre crowd that Mitch plays with gathered up at 9000 feet for Easter dinner. We watched a few videos from previous Magic Moments shows and I think a bit of the “Concert for George“, though that might have been the DVD we watched at the Derby party. Either way, floppy ears were worn, chocolate was eaten and parachuting bunnies were thrown in the air. I think Austin pulled off the ears the best.

Insert cheers and screams here

Insert cheers and screams here

Tom Pazen is going to have already read this, but two days later, Thievery Corporation played the Filmore here and they were *awesome*. The two guys on keyboards, conga percussion, tom percussion, bass, guitar, sitar, saxophone, trumpet and six different singers from Tehran, Buenos Aires, Brazil, Guiana, either South Africa or the Caribbean and Frank from Chicago. Great show, two encores. BTW, this should be the last crappy cell phone pic from that gawdawful Nokia. It broke a while back and I replaced it with an iPhone. Next concert I’ll be there with a better cell phone camera and my cyber zippo lighter.

another mint julep please

Another mint julep please

Did anyone else watch the Kentucky Derby? Dude, Mine That Bird kicked some serious butt! Blazed from how far back? Last place? Not really a horse racing fan, but watching the Derby with Laura is like watching basketball with Jon Kindred, the enthusiasm is infectious. Besides, we all got to wear the big flowery hat (modeled here by the lovely Annie) and lose the imaginary bets we placed.

So purty and flowery

So purty and flowery

A few weeks back, I decided to try growing flowers on my deck to try and attract humming birds. I tried putting up humming bird feeders last year, but didn’t seem to have much luck attracting the birds. So it was off to the hardware store for some window boxes and flowers. They seem to still be growing, even though I’ve never had much luck keeping plants alive. The humming bird feeders on the other hand, are pretty much useless. I’ll need to look for something else I guess. If I continue to have luck with the flowers, I’m going to try growing the peter pepper seeds I ordered online.

Intrepid camper

Intrepid camper

That brings us up to last weekend. We went to the Great Sand Dunes National Park again this year. I missed last year since I was in Texas working on a job I believe. This year was lots of fun even if the weather wasn’t cooperating. Laura’s friend Christy joined us this time out and brought this year’s group to 7 (was that an appropriate use of apostrophes, Laura?). The last day, we were getting ready to take our picture by the Great Sand Dunes sign when an Asian family drove up wanting to do the same thing. It’s been suggested that I might have been speaking the bits and pieces of Japanese I know to a Korean family. Personally I still think they were Japanese, what with the peace signs (which Mitch called gang signs) and the fashion sense, but I could be wrong. On the way home, we played a game where we linked band names by the last letter in the name. Beatles -> Supertramp -> Pretenders -> Steely Dan, etc.. We found that there are a lot of band names that end in D, H, E, S, N, O and M. I realize it’s no “Cow Poker”, but it seemed to pass the time nicely πŸ™‚ .

Suffer my wrath!!

Suffer my wrath!!

That pretty much brings us up to date. If you’d like to hear me bitch about all the crappy things going on, you’ll have to give me a call or drop me an e-mail. Apparently, I just get depressed and give up writing when I start to do that πŸ™‚ . Thursday is Anita the wonderful hairdresser’s birthday, so let’s all wish her well and book an appointment! If you don’t, Kahn the Terminator Cat will melt you where you stand with his deadly stare. Love you Anita, I’m a month behind you. I just have to let a few more days go by.

– G

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 10:25 pm

    Hehe…They should have chain for bike tyres πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

