Skip to content

American Idiot

June 22, 2010

Don’t want to be an American idiot.
Don’t want a nation under the new media
And can you hear the sound of hysteria?
The subliminal mind fuck America.
 

Welcome to a new kind of tension.
All across the alien nation.
Where everything isn’t meant to be okay.
Television dreams of tomorrow.
We’re not the ones who’re meant to follow.
For that’s enough to argue.
 

Well maybe I’m the faggot America.
I’m not a part of a redneck agenda.
Now everybody do the propaganda.
And sing along to the age of paranoia.
 

Welcome to a new kind of tension.
All across the alien nation.
Where everything isn’t meant to be okay.
Television dreams of tomorrow.
We’re not the ones who’re meant to follow.
For that’s enough to argue.
 

Don’t want to be an American idiot.
One nation controlled by the media.
Information age of hysteria.
It’s calling out to idiot America.
 

Welcome to a new kind of tension.
All across the alien nation.
Where everything isn’t meant to be okay.
Television dreams of tomorrow.
We’re not the ones who’re meant to follow.
For that’s enough to argue.
 
Green DayAmerican Idiot

I took that picture at the top of the page of the aspen trees in South Park! Pretty cool, huh?

I realize that it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but more on that later. First I’d like to say that when I do post and if I’m not just talking about what I’ve been up to, I try to take something topical and give my opinion (rant) in what I hope will be pithy, insightful, sarcastic and funny. That’s what I *try* to do. Whether I succeed or not is a whole ‘nother thing and not really for me to decide. 🙂 For example, I debated comparing and contrasting the two Koreas. I was going to give facts about nutritional differences between the two countries, technology advances (or not) between the two, the general perception of their respective leaders and how each country has progressed using their different political philosophies. Here are four pictures I was going to use:

CRT Technology!!

South Korea Tech

“Approximately 7 million South Koreans, or one in seven of the country’s residents, routinely make use of mobile TV services on cell phones, personal media players, handheld computers, vehicle navigation systems, or other portable devices.” 

Guy in Labcoat looks *real* comfortable

Mobile TV Service cell phone

“Pretty soon, phones doubling as TVs will be as ubiquitous as camera phones now,” predicts Song Sang Hoon, the director in charge of mobile TV at South Korea’s Ministry of Information & Communication, which has pushed carriers to offer the service.

Those were just a couple of the fun facts I planned on sharing. But I’m also prone to rant about things I think are ridiculous, idiotic or otherwise stupid. Lately however, the shit’s just coming in so fast I can’t keep up. I’ll start to put words to “paper” and then someone will say something even more stunning and it will stop me in my tracks. So I’m going to end this post with quotes from idiots and not even try to offer comment, I’ll just let you bask in the wonderment. 

Before I go however, I wanted to mention that I’m leaving my home of almost 4 years here in Colorado to return to Chicago. That’s why it’s taken me so long to post, lots of stuff going on in order to first make that decision and then make it happen. The reasons I left for the west included working less, finding a personal life, more leisure, less stress. Yeah, that didn’t work out as well as I’d hoped. Without getting into all the details, I find I’m doing as much work as I was doing in Chicago but earning less. Although I love my townhouse here with its 2 1/2 baths and sunshine streaming in all over the place, I’m paying more in mortgage than I was in Chicago since I bought at exactly the wrong time :-). The most successful Match.com date I had was with a woman who lives in Seattle. 

Don’t get me wrong, Colorado is beautiful. I’m steps from endless bike paths that crisscross Denver. The weather here is outstanding and don’t let anyone tell you different. I just find that I’m unable to make any headway towards the goals I’d set for myself and I’m disinclined to wait any longer for things to change. I will surely miss my friends out here who are none to pleased about my leaving. Those of you in Chicago can relate, I’m sure. At the end of the day though, I’ve got to do what works for me. Besides, no one can cut my hair as well as Miss Holly Go Lightly. 

So if you’re in Chicago, I’ll be seeing you soon. If not, I’ll have new contact information to send you when things sort themselves out. But now without further delay, I present, “Fun With Quotes from Politicians and Pundits.” 

“You know, before we all started having health care, in the olden days, our grandparents, they would bring a chicken to the doctor. They would say I’ll paint your house…. I’m not backing down from that system.” – Candidate for Senate Sue Lowden (R) Nevada on alternatives to Health Care Reform 4/19/10 

“I know for a fact, I know somebody in the medical field who has been paid with vegetables.” – State Representative Mike Bell (R) Tennessee on alternatives to Health Care Reform 4/13/10 

“These individuals came all the way from Southeast Texas to protest the excessive spending and growing government intrusion by the 111th Congress and the new Obama administration. These participants, whose tax dollars were used to create and maintain this public transit system, were frustrated and disappointed that our nation’s capital did not make a great effort to simply provide a basic level of transit for them.” – Representative Kevin Brady (R) Texas complaining about the lack of *public* transportation available to participants in a Tea Party Rally protesting government spending 9/16/09 

“Well, I guess they’re afraid of the power of our passion and our numbers and, you know, you might not say Communist, but I watch Glenn Beck and he’s taught me well. Progressive is the new word for Communist, but it’s the same goal as government control of everything and it’s very obvious that Obama is trying to do that. And I don’t want to brag, but I sort of called it before he was elected and when I was on O’Reilly and I said he was a Communist and I got a lot of hate mail, but I got some that said I was a prescient which means “a prophet.” – Victoria Jackson, former SNL cast member and current Tea Party member on why she thinks Obama is a Communist 3/26/2010 

“That’s a conundrum, isn’t it? I don’t know what to say. Maybe I don’t want smaller government. I guess I want smaller government and my Social Security. I didn’t look at it from the perspective of losing things I need. I think I’ve changed my mind.” – Jodine White, 62, Tea Party Member from Rocklin, Calif. after being asked how Tea Party supporters can say “keep your hands off my Medicare and Social Security”, the biggest domestic programs, but want to cut government spending 4/14/2010 

“This is a perfect example of why government should never be involved in the private sector. Government is not the solution. It’s the problem. The more government tries to get in and regulate the free market, the worse things become.” – Randy Brogdon, state senator (R) Oklahoma and current candidate for Governor on why the BP’s Gulf Oil Spill is the government’s fault 6/21/2010 

“I’m ashamed of what happened in the White House yesterday. I think it is a tragedy of the first proportion that a private company would be subjected to what I would characterize as a shakedown, in this case a $20 billion shakedown.” – Representative Joe Barton (R) Texas and ranking member on the House Energy Committee apologizing to BP after BP was asked to put money aside in an escrow account to pay victims of the Gulf Oil Spill 6/17/2010 

“What I don’t like from the president’s administration is this sort of, ‘I’ll put my boot heel on the throat of BP’, I think that sounds really un-American in his criticism of business.” – Rand Paul (R) Kentucky, candidate for Senate criticizing President Barack Obama’s handling of the Gulf Oil Spill 5/21/2010 

Finally, skipping Rand Paul’s comments about how private business owners should be allowed to not serve Blacks or Gays or anyone they choose not to serve, and because I want to end on a humorous note:

“Now here’s an amazing statistic. In a recent poll almost ninety percent of Tea Baggers said that they thought taxes had either gone up or stayed the same under Obama. Only two percent thought they went down. But the reality is taxes have gone down; for ninety-five percent of working families, taxes went down. Think about that. Only two percent of the people in a “movement” about taxes, named after a tax revolt, have the slightest idea what’s going on…with taxes. – Bill Maher on why he thinks the Tea Baggers are a cult 2/18/2010

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

